The shaft is too damn good

Please give us your opinions on gameplay and any suggestions you have which could make Dystopia better.

Moderator: Forum Moderators

excellent. (+2)
9%
could be cool. (+1)
9%
do not like it. (-1)
82%

Total votes : 11

Postby MaZe741 » Mon Nov 01, 2010 4:13 am

I represent the "shaft is too damn good" party. People are using shaft as we speak. Poor non-scs deckers losing battles giving their best LISTEN; can you hear the tears of rage spilled by skillful deckers losing to beginners that do not even know what the minigames do? gotta listen like me.

as a decking expert, I will not blame anyone for doing so. Shaft on vaccine, shaft on fortress, shaft on detonate and even silo. you wanna know why?

you said it; because the shaft is too damn good.

but unlike the whitebeard, I offer some solutions:

- direct nerf
switch shaft energy consumption with hitscan. maybe there is a reason that the weapon with the highest dps does not consume the most energy, but I dont really see it.
(max dps max consumption solution)

alternatively, make shaft energy consumption rise exponentially the longer you use it. this value decreases in the same fashion or linearly as soon as you stop using shaft.
(overheat solution)

-indirect nerf
make all cyber weapons deal damage to your targets health constantly, not only when you deck them out. but, shaft also deals damage to your own health. (palpatine solution)

alternatively, only projectile hits and hitscan do healthdamage.
you can still combo shaft + switches to deal additional healthdamage, however shaft alone can never breach the threshold, it will only constantly deplete it.
(shaftshield solution)

prominent existing solutions to prevent getting shafted are +jumping and nodecamping, both are very boring, annoying and require no skill. this is why I'd rather nerf shaft in a different way, I starve to get a discussion going.
Buffing normal deck hardly matters seeing as it's so useless most of the time